In War, I didn’t discover

war
Najlaa Ataallh
Editor: Eva Burke
In war I didn’t just discover the inadequacy of writing, but also my clear inability to write even one correct word.
I didn’t just discover the mystery of language, but am also sure of the shame of my Arabic language- of my cowardly and weak texts.
I didn’t just discover my city without walls, but also my own hollowness, and the space I occupy as just a temporary displacement of atoms.
I didn’t just discover my disability, but also my truncated thought and the certainty of this physical body as just pieces of growing doubt that death has yet to harvest.
I didn’t just discover that I have grown poorer and more ignorant, but that hardly anything could ever be mentioned again.
In war I didn’t get mesmerized by literature or criticism, but I sank into the mud. I joined other writers in this fall to anxiety and the fear of lake diseases. Now I float inside an oil tank that THREATENS TO explode at THIS disabled and withered heart.
In war I never read one right number.
I didn’t read out the beseeching prayers, but I did need to be hit by the physics teacher’s stick. I needed to be reminded that the hit of the rocket head on the house floor will affect the air atmosphere, that it will open the sky for 10 martyrs at least to cross its gate.
In war I didn’t remember the periodic table of chemicals or the formula for any compound, but the result of the interaction of chemicals has the same outcome: death.
I didn’t just discover that death, like life, is priceless. I also became certain that love is buried in the evil hearts. And the dream of a free country is an inherited Greek legend with irrelevant epics

في الحرب…. لم أكتشف
في الحرب لم اكتشف أني لا أعرف الكتابة، بل تيقنت أني لا أعرف أن أصيغ كلمة واحدة صحيحة.
لم اكتشف أني لا أعرف اللغات بل تيقنت أن العربية تخجل من محتواي الهش الجبان.
لم اكتشف أني أعيش في مدينة بلا جدران بل تأكدت أني خواء، ومساحة الهواء الذي أشغله هي إزاحة مؤقتة لبعض ذرات الكيمياء.
لم اكتشف أني مريضة، بل تأكدت أني مبتورة الفكر وتكويني الجسدي هو قطعة زائدة لم تحصدها شكوك الموت .
في الحرب أخرج أكثر جهلا وفقدا..بل لاشيء يذكر.
في الحرب لم أفتن بالأدب والنقد، بل غرقت في الوحل، وانضممت إلى الكتاب مشعثي الفكر، معوجي الدماغ وتلويت في داء القلق والخوف، وطفوت على داخل صفيحة زيت تنفجر في قلب عاجز ذابل.
في الحرب لم أقرأ رقما واحدا صحيحا، ولم أتلو صلوات التضرع أو التقرب، بل أحتاج أن أضرب بخيزران أستاذ الفيزياء، وأحفظ أن ارتطام رأس صاروخ بسطح منزل يؤثر على غلاف الجو ويفتته ويفتح السماء ليقطع 10 شهداء دفعة واحدة الطريق.
في الحرب لم أتذكر جدول مندليف الكيمائي، ولم أعرف الصيغة الكيميائية لأي مركب، تيقنت أن التفاعل الذري للمركبات يرسب شيئا واحدا فقط……الموت.
لم أكتشف أن الحياة ثمينة بقدر الموت، بل تيقنت أن الحب مدفون في بواطن الشر، وأن الوطن أسطورة أغريقية ورثت مع الملاحم مجهولة الصلة.

About nataallh

"It is an attempt to be me"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

