The 14th Night (The Massacre)

masscare

Najlaa Ataallh

Translated from Arabic: Evelyn Teo

How can language help you write down what you witness with own eyes but don’t understand? How is it possible to carry on putting thoughts on paper and translating how you feel? You are dead. Dead in every intellectual sense of the word.

You may still be breathing because a rocket has yet to split your lungs in two. You may still be able to see because your head hasn’t been dashed against a wall yet, from the force of an mortar explosion.

But you are dead.

The sky seems to be angry with Gaza, it showers the earth with body parts, that land on pavements and the middle of each street. Normal life has become a distant memory, like a ghost you chase in a dream. But everyone in the dream is dead, even you are; it’s just your body has yet to join the others in the morgue.

There is no likelihood of staying alive.

You can’t speak, or look at anyone in the eye, or even listen to the news on the radio.

You don’t know where you are.

Are you a dead body at the side of the road?

Or, are you lying on the floor of the hospital waiting for burial?

Or, are you injured perhaps and the ambulance men have not yet been able to reach your still-breathing body?

Or, are you on a stretcher waiting for the amputation of one of your limbs?

You lack the strength to open your eyes or move any part of your body. The only words in your heart are simply, ‘Oh Allah are You with us?’

You stop in your tracks, suddenly realising that you have now been running and staggering for over two kilometres, carrying two small children, one in each arm. You look left and you look right, but no one is around. You look down at yourself to see the blood covering all of your body, yet you can’t work out if you’re injured or not.

You smell explosives, smoke and blood. Your face is moist and you ask yourself, ‘Where am I? Why are we alone?’

We were all together. Where did they go?

‘Where did they go? Did I run and leave them behind?’

‘How could that I left my mother? Why did we become separated?’

The hospital is full of the dead and the wounded. When you arrive at the entrance to it you set the two children down on the ground and look into their eyes and ask, with a smile, ‘How did we managed to get out of that?’

You never woke up, even when you saw all the people streaming out of their homes, like successive waves of the sea, scrambling, crying, terrified of leaving behind a single soul for the artillery to target.

You never woke up, despite hearing the sound of the first shell breaching the front wall of the kitchen upstairs, and the whizz of different pieces of shrapnel ricocheting around the house; in a trance of panic you simply ran off in any direction, just like everyone else, trying in vain to make out any human voice above the sound of the artillery.

You never woke up, even when your mother fell to the ground, unable to carry on, screaming: ‘Take the kids and run.’

Instead, you simply ran, as fast as you could, dodging artillery fire, holding the children tight to you under each arm. You cared about nothing, you couldn’t smell the explosives, the diesel, the gunpowder, the smoke that darkened the sky all over Shojae’ya. You could not hear the sound of the missiles raining down on the people throwing their emptied bodies into the road.

You kept running until you reached this hospital. And now, finally, you set the two children carefully on the ground, staring at them, still dazed. You lean in close to them, touch their faces, gently shake their arms, and ask them out loud ‘Why are you still asleep? We are here. We managed to get out!’

Unlike you, now, they they don’t wake up, and they cannot answer you..

About nataallh

"It is an attempt to be me"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to The 14th Night (The Massacre)

  1. cbtarup says:

    Gaza stans for the definition on inhumanity.When will this be finish?
    We all know that war is always a foolish thing to fight.But why so?
    Please God! Please! Do something for Gaza,do something for humanity.

  2. medicofreak10 says:

    😥

  3. ameliemelina says:

    Reblogged this on ameliemelina.

  4. Living under the dark cloud of terror can not be pleasant for the mind, body and soul.

    • nataallh says:

      say under dark cloud of war, it is indescribable
      situation .

      • I can only hope for a peaceful solution that will eliminate the violence of war and bring back the laughter of life. I have been to war and been under attack, but it is a different animal when your home and lifestyle is under siege under the dark cloud of war. I hope you can have peace very soon.

      • nataallh says:

        I pray for what u r praying for,,,,peace, I wish peace will spread all over the middle east and the world…Hope people will never evacuated from their houses…..keep praying for peace .

  5. rakuttendi says:

    Reblogged this on BLOGTENDI.

  6. I hate war and pray for peace

  7. I’m so sorry for what is happening right now. My heart is with the people of Gaza.

  8. What I fail to understand in the human condition is how a peoples like the Jews that have suffered recent persecution do worse to their own semite brothers, taking into account that all Palestinians are semites too. Gaza to me is reminiscent to the concentration camps of recent past: Belsen=Gaza.
    A fiend is organising a concert for the children of Gaza and remarked that this event must not turn into a Israel bashing event. But How can one not?

  9. Sister and people of Gaza, my heart breaks imagining what the people of Gaza must be going through. As I go through my day, working my silly job and caring for my loved ones, you never leave my heart. I think how lucky I am and wonder why, why, WHY others, my earthly family must suffer because of ego’s and sick hearts. Nataallh, know that many of us are praying for the people and Gaza, praying for peace all over the world. Working toward keeping the peace makers empowered. Always keeping love growing in my heart to outstretch and fuel more love and peace. ❤

    • nataallh says:

      Your praying for peace for sure reach all people seek for it, your words reflect white heart and peace soul…it is our destiny to live in Gaza as your destiny to live where u r, each one of us do what is supposed from him to do on this earth…be proud of your self that u sharing people their feeling.

  10. I don’t know how to comfort you, all of you who have lost something and/or someone. My heart and my prayers are with you, the people of Gaza and everywhere whom others are oppressed. For peace and humanity.

    fa-innee qareebun
    Truly, I Am Near.
    – The Quran, 2:186

    • nataallh says:

      thanks dear for your feeling towards all people are suffering,….it means a lot for me to read your words…please pray for peace

      • mbitproducer says:

        I can imagine that God doesn’t wants to be involved in this..

        I’m not sure if certain wars will ever stop…nor am I sure if it is god that will make an end to this violence…what I do know is that when it comes to the “Gaza & Isreal” News Topics the audience gets to see a destroyed civilization and a bunch of quarreling so called world leaders. At some point I think that the news itself, tends to broadcast its usual repertoire.

        What I am interested in are those photo series & news topics that shows the rest of planet Earth how the people in the Gaza & Israel zone experience the concept of “Peace”?

        Is it possible to capture “peacefulness images & News Topics”, cause I’m not sure if any reporter will do that, therefore I think the audience is conditioned to this war situation, just like you expect the Sun and Moon to rise every day..?

        A Medal of Honnor has 2 sides, one side with the horrific reality and the other side with the reality that is worth carrying for the sake of humanity..

        At some point I started to think about a metaphorical phrase of a well known caveman called “Plato”. I remember him walking out of the cave and turning away from the screen as he noticed that it was not the real reality…this is why I hope & think that it is important to broadcast the “real experience” of peace to the rest of the world……..

        For the record, this would be on the same planet…http://mbitproducer.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/glimpses-of-peace/

        -A pray for peach-

      • mbitproducer says:

        I can imagine that God doesn’t wants to be involved in this..

        I’m not sure if certain wars will ever stop…nor am I sure if it is god that will make an end to this violence…what I do know is that when it comes to the “Gaza & Isreal” News Topics the audience gets to see a destroyed civilization and a bunch of quarreling so called world leaders. At some point I think that the news itself, tends to broadcast its usual repertoire.

        What I am interested in are those photo series & news topics that shows the rest of planet Earth how the people in the Gaza & Israel zone experience the concept of “Peace”?

        Is it possible to capture “peacefulness images & News Topics”, cause I’m not sure if any reporter will do that, therefore I think the audience is conditioned to this war situation, just like you expect the Sun and Moon to rise every day..?

        A Medal of Honnor has 2 sides, one side with the horrific reality and the other side with the reality that is worth carrying for the sake of humanity..

        At some point I started to think about a metaphorical phrase of a well known caveman called “Plato”. I remember him walking out of the cave and turning away from the screen as he noticed that it was not the real reality…this is why I hope & think that it is important to broadcast the “real experience” of peace to the rest of the world……..

        For the record, this would be on the same planet…http://mbitproducer.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/glimpses-of-peace/

        -A pray for peace-

      • nataallh says:

        I totally agree with you, before this war I was support the trend of nonviolence resistance,not only the war has two sides,,,every thing on this planet has two sides of truth ( what we want to see, and what is truly happen)
        …I’m sure that most of Gaza people at least are confused, and so fear of what is next,
        we have a dream to feel sun raising, and touch the moon light…and keep asking when this will happens?

      • mbitproducer says:

        I hope & believe so..that it started with the previous yesterdays/ the Sun & Moon decided to light up the whole Earth. Nonviolence is key..and also a legacy from wise people that dealt with these kind of dilemmas..

      • nataallh says:

        It is the key to live in peace and love ,I wish this concept will be spread all over the world to eliminates wars

  11. aajahid says:

    Reblogged this on aajahid and commented:
    We,people of Bangladesh,are with you against Israel .our hearts are bleeding seeing your half body.eye closed itself.we can do nothing for you without eye dropping and praying for Israel’s miserable end…..

  12. minutesout says:

    Reblogged this on MinutesOut and commented:
    No words express Gaza better than these…

  13. My dear, while I’m sitting in my couch reading your blog, I feel so ungrateful of the luck I have and also so lazy and so responsible of what you are suffering. I’m Jewish and we have suffered this so many times in our history which is why I can’t understand why our nations can’t come to an agreement. I hope and pray for peace to happen. Please don’t ever think we, Jews, all support war because we are taughed to live in peace and its very easy to support war in your warm and safe home in Europe. I wish you all the best and my heart is with you.

    • nataallh says:

      the three religious from god call for peace and love. I know that lots of Jews not support war like lots of Palestinians and Muslims.. but war decision is not in our hands/..I will continue reflect the truth of war in order to seek for peace. it is my pleasure to have you as a follower of my posts.

  14. rubyrites says:

    This was a wonderfully written experience. I’m looking forward to reading more of your thoughts! ❤ from Canada.

  15. safiyahislam says:

    this was deep. pray for Gaza

  16. NATAALLH Your people are the strongest beings on this earth ❤ Allah choose your people for a reason . Faith, love, peace & safety prayers are always being sent to Gaza & those in fear. The more people realize WHAT’S GOING ON the more love that’s going to be sent. Thanks to you, more prayers are on their way . As more & more
    people read this post.

    Peace and love from California,
    -Kassandra

    • nataallh says:

      thanks dear for this deep emotions, I received your comment while I was thinking of my time I spent in California (SF) last year in October…please keep praying of all people who are seeking for peace

  17. Reblogged this on barbaraswrittenwords and commented:
    My tears flow from deep inside my soul

  18. saramjadxs says:

    Reblogged this on saramjadxs and commented:
    why does the world not speak of this!

  19. therealrene says:

    Follow my book reviews please? I review rock and roll autobiographies.

    therealrene.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

